See a letter from Ellen about the donation campaign. Your help matters!

Cook Talk

25th anniversary party - heavy apps
Georgia Mom
11/25/17
I am planning my 25th anniversary party in my home. It will be between Christmas & New Years, starting at 7pm and we're anticipating about 25 guests. I am doing all the prep myself (with assistance from Costco, my husband & teen sons) but I also work full-time in retail and won't have a ton of time to prep. I don't mind heating up things during the party. Also, we don't celebrate Christmas so I don't have all that cooking, etc. The menu is part heavy apps & part buffet dishes but everything served buffet style. My two questions are (1) are my amounts correct (I tried to use the Appetizers page and came up with 36-48 bites per person per hour), and (2) is a spiral-sliced ham too similar to all the other parties that occur in December.

1) Cheese platter - 3-5 large wedges of cheeses from Costco (4-5 lb total) with grapes, dried apricots, almonds, crackers & baguette slices
2) Home hot-smoked salmon platter (3lb) with mustard-dill sauce (24 oz), cocktail rye & pumpernickel (1 loaf each), diced onions & capers
3) Greek platter - hummus (2 lb), tzatziki (1 lb 4 oz), homemade sesame-eggplant salsa (4 cups), olives, pita wedges & veggies (3.5-4lbs)
4) cocktail meatballs (like the grape jelly kind but completely from scratch), made ahead & frozen, warmed in crockpot - 5-6lb meat makes 160-192 meatballs
5) penne in vodka sauce with fresh moss & basil - will make 2 pans, each 1 lb pasta & only heat 1 to start. Can heat second halfway through or freeze
6) homemade asian chicken dumplings - made ahead & frozen, steams from frozen in about 10 min, 2 lb ground chicken makes 160 dumplings
7) warm dip TBD - crab or spin-art ???
8) honey baked ham, assorted mustards/sauces, rolls (how much to get?)
9) wild rice pilaf salad with pecans & dried cranberries
10) citrus, fennel & olive salad

THANKS!!!!

ellen
11/26/17