See a letter from Ellen about the donation campaign. Your help matters!

Cook Talk

Selling BBQ sandwiches at Flea Market
Ashley
03/06/13
Hi Ellen,
My husband and I want to start our own business. He currently sales at flea markets and online products. Now,i want to begin something in the food industry. the flea market we go to does not have much BBQ sales its more, mexican food and junk foods. i thought bbq sandwhiches would be a hit! i was thinking cooking the meat at home in a roaster oven (i have 16 quart) preparing at home then take it to flea market have a little burner going to toast buns on butter...what meat would you suggest and how much for my first time selling. Keep in mind i am a rookie meat cooker but i am good with instructions! we leave like 4:30 am? also i would like to cook something to sell for breakfast, what do you think? something unique they dont usually have at flea markets, like i said before its usually mexican...i also want to stay in a budget, i dont want to go over board and be left with tons of food=loss :/...help..i so want to be a stay at home mom! i eventually want to buy a traveling trailer/kitchen if all goes well!
Ashley
03/06/13
OH! i was also thinking of giving something free, like a little cookie or something..just to promote! Inexpensive but a HIT is my goal :)
Ashley
03/06/13
I also would like to know the best way to store th food, i want o get the food worked out before i purchase any electric burners, trailers...etc....i first want to start small...pretty small.... so i know how big of a demand it will be...but i also have to be noticeable in a way...i apologize if this is not your type of convo ! i am just trying to get any type of advice.
ellen
03/06/13
Ashley, nothing with meat is inexpensive these days. The catering business is VERY challenging.