Cooks Reach Out

Cook's Chat Forum

Learn How to Choose Web Hosting

Labyrinth Readers Society

ELLEN'S KITCHEN
Afternoon Wedding reception
Sandy B.
04/10/11
First of all - thank you for this wonderful site! I have been asked to cater a wedding reception for 200 people at our church and I've never done anything this large before!
The chosen menu is Punch, coffee, fruit and dip, crackers and cheese spread, chocolate-dipped pretzels (done ahead) and nuts. They will also have a wedding cake.
The wedding is at 2:00 and this is all the food planned. According to your quantities, I need 6 times the amounts listed for each item on your pages (3 times the quantity because of the type of reception for 200 people). That seems like a lot of crackers and nuts - 36 lbs. of each. Also for fruit - 30 - 36 pieces each? I was thinking of 10 crackers per person and 15 pieces of fruit per person, but I must be thinking too small. Should I just go with your quantities? It just seemed like a lot in those couple of areas.
Thank you for any help!!
Sandy B.
04/11/11
Never mind the fruit count from the above question - I multiplied too many times :D
ellen
04/11/11
Yes, 12 pounds nuts and 12-18 pounds pretzels. And this is really not enough food. They need to add at least 2 more items- such as appetizer platters or dips and chips, relish or antipasto trays.
ellen
04/11/11
about 4 cookies or bars per person in addition to the cake would be another possible choice. Can be made ahead and frozen...
Sandy B.
04/11/11
Thank you so much for your help!! After reading through your site, it didn't sound like enough to me, either. I will run it by the family. Great suggestions!
ellen
04/11/11
Good. Remember, if you run out of food, a particular disaster at a wedding, it is ALWAYS the caterer's fault (even if you were doing exactly what they asked.) It can ruin your rep.

What's New? Check Out the New Pages Page